Refocusing

I withdrew my appeal to the Environmental Hearing Board this week, after hitting another bout of stress-induced insomnia and realizing that the appeal was essentially doing the legal compliance assurance that the PA-DEP should have done to begin with.

I acted too quickly on the anger I felt upon discovering (during the DEP file review September 4) that Penn State OPP had – again – changed its energy plans; had – again – lied about the relationship between those plans and the applicable laws; and had – again – attempted to circumvent state and federal clean air laws without public notice.

So I’m done with Penn State. Fuck OPP and the Sustainability Institute: incompetent, complacent, duplicitous, cowardly asshats. They know where to find me when they’re ready to play ball. And they know how to signal that they’re ready: publish the unredacted PSU Energy System Master Plan. But I won’t be holding my breath, and I won’t be banging on their closed minds and closed doors anymore either.

Instead, I’ll be focusing on Steady State College, Friends & Farmers Online, and putting together two more-or-less comprehensive status updates: one on regional energy security planning and one on regional food security planning. Both will exclude the Castle of Penn State; both will be available here at the blog; and both will include email contact lists.

Also planning to print custom bookmarks on my letterpress, starting with AJ Liebling‘s observation: “Freedom of the press is guaranteed only to those who own one.” Contact me for more info. As always, thanks for reading.

One thought on “Refocusing

Leave a Reply

